#RTInterview: “Alexa”

ALEXA_VideoShot

Who Is Alexa?

I’m pretty down to earth, I think. I’m an animal lover, a musician, a student, and I’m just enjoying life right now.

Congratulations on debuting at #79 on Billboard Hot 100. In only a short time, you’ve manage to take over the charts; your single “Cause We Feel Like It” (which actually ran neck and neck with music from Ke$ha and P!nk)…How does it feel being in the place that you are now?

It’s amazing how quickly all of this happened. It’s still very surreal. but it’s an amazing experience.

Can you tell us a little more about “Cause We Feel Like It?” How did the track come about?

We started working on it when I graduated high school. My mindset was really just to bask in life and make the best of my Summer. It’s a good Summer anthem.

Any upcoming projects or tours?

I’m working on finishing my EP, there will be a cover on it which is gonna be cool…Hopefully much traveling this Summer as well.

Your sound…How would you describe your sound?

I think right now it’s very dance-pop. It’s a really radio friendly record, and that’s cool. I have a really broad variety of music that I listen to, so I’m really excited to be able to project that in the future.

How long have you been singing? When did you discover your talent?

I’ve been singing for fun since I can remember, but I start working with my label in 2011.

Who are your musical influences?

I’m really inspired by women in the music industry; powerful forces like Janice Joplin, Grace Slick, and so many others.

What is your biggest fear?

I really don’t know…I think I fear change, but I’m learning to embrace it more as I get older.

Where would you like to be in next two years?

I hope to still be in school, making music and enjoying my college years. I’m not even sure where I’ll be next week so the next two years is anyone’s guess.

Do you cook? If so, what is your favorite dish to cook?

Barely…I can bake and make decent breakfast sandwiches.

Who is your celebrity crush?

Leonardo DiCaprio, of course. I’m also super into Adrien Brody.

Favorite television show?

Girls.

What’s your favorite color?

Green.

Other than music, do you have any other talents? 

I rode horses for thirteen years, so there’s that.

Android or Apple?

Apple.

Who would you like to work with (up and coming or established)?

I’m really into Charlie XCX, I think we could make a really cool record.

In 2013, what should your fans expect?

The next two singles are still pretty much pop, but the EP is gonna have a cool cover of an old school song, which I’m really excited about.

Any advice you’ve been given that might help someone else wanting to pursue a singing career?

It’s a very different career to pursue, but if you keep working hard it can eventually pay off.

Alexa- “Cause We Feel Like It” (Video)

The up and coming star is currently in the studio recording her follow-up singles, “Don’t Let Go” & “Ego” and her EP as executive producer alongside 2CK Productions, LLC. For more Alexa and her music, check her out on Facebook, follow her on Twitter and Instagram and download her hit single “Cause We Feel Like It” on iTunes

Download: Alexa- “Cause We Feel Like It”

Previously: NEW VIDEO: Alexa- “Cause We Feel Like It”

Leave a Reply

