#RTArtistSpotlight: “Petey Godson”

#RahTalk Creator & Founder, Rah Willz talks 1-on-1 with Petey Godson about music, upcoming projects and more (below)
#RahTalk Creator & Founder, Rah Willz talks 1-on-1 with Petey Godson about music, upcoming projects and more… #RahTalk (www.rahtalk.co)

I recently got the opportunity to sit down with an up and coming artist out in Houston, TX for #RTArtistSpotlight who goes by the name of Petey Godson and I must say, I am still amazed by this young man and his talents. Godson, who is a “self-taught” musician begun when he was 10 playing both the piano and drums… I guess you could say the rest was history!

Check out my one-on-one with #RTArtistSpotlight artist, Petey Godson below:

FACT: Petey Godson was recently signed by former NBA player, Steve Francis
FACT: Petey Godson was recently signed by former NBA player, Steve Francis

RW: Who is Petey Godson?

PG: A 25 year old dude who’s covered by grace, out here tryin’ to put out hip-hop bangers.

RW: Where are you from?

PG: Queens, NY

RW: At what point did you discover your talent?

PG: Around middle school I started messing around with music on a hip-hop level, but I’ve only recently felt talented.

RW: Have you ever doubted yourself or your career?

PG: All the time. I ask myself if I should continue all the time and no matter what I try, music stays in my heart.

RW: Your sound. How would you describe your sound to someone who has never heard your music?

PG: It’s a mix of east coast rhymes on southern beats and vice versa.

RW: Who are some of your musical influences?

PG: Pusha T, Freeway, Jay-Z and Jadakiss

RW: Who are you listening to?

PG: Honestly, I don’t have any music on my iPhone, but my own. My favorite Pandora stations are like Pusha T, Jay-Z, Drake, Big Pun, Future, and Rick Ross. My car deck has the Rich Homie Quan mixtape.

RW: Who are some artist you would like to work with?

PG: Right now, I’d love to jump on a track with Rich Homie Quan.

RW: When writing, where do you gain your inspiration?

PG: Mostly from my own life experiences, past and present. My daughter is always my main motivation.

RW: How would you separate yourself from other artists?

PG: My sound is different. My style is different. My music doesn’t blend in with what’s out there right now.

RW: Besides music, is there anything else you would like to get involved with?

PG: Music is my main project right now, but I’d be open to new business ventures in the future.

RW: What can your fans expect in 2013?

PG: Lots of music… Maybe a few videos and a few shows.

RW: What is the best advice you’ve been given upon entering or being in the music game?

PG: Not to make things personal, it’s all business.

RW: Any shoutouts?

PG: Shoutout to Mazerati Music/Steve Francis, Untamed Music & Freeway Music

DOWLOAD Petey Godson's latest mixtape, "Scales And Dreams" which is NOW available on Datpiff.com (click below)
DOWLOAD Petey Godson‘s latest mixtape, “Scales And Dreams” which is NOW available on Datpiff.com (click below)
DOWNLOAD ‘SCALES AND DREAMS’ (THE MIXTAPE) – CLICK HERE
Instagram: @peteygodson
One thought on “#RTArtistSpotlight: “Petey Godson”

  1. We can do all things God said it I believe it … Petey is truly talented and a blessing to the rap world .. I see big things coming … NHS we got your back

Leave a Reply

