#RahTalkExclusive: “Matt U”

Matt U Rah

Before leaving New York, we got a chance to catch up with a young man who is definitely making a name for himself in the world. He not only sings and writes music, but acts and models as well…I’m talking about on a national level, commercials and all! The up and coming artist recently released a single called “Reflection” featuring Capitol Records recording artist, Kadeve.

matt

Check out our one-on-one exclusive with rising star, Matt U Johnson below:

RW: Who is Matt U Johnson?

MU: Matt U Johnson is a singer, songwriter, actor and model… I’m an all around young entrepreneur.

RW: When did you first discover your talent?

MU: I discovered my talent in singing and performing at the young age of 10.

RW: Is music your first love?

MU: Music was my first love. Growing up in New York City, I was surrounded by concerts and shows.

RW: Have you ever doubted yourself or your career?

MU: Have I ever doubted myself? No. I NEVER give up, everyone knows me as a persistent person.

RW: Outside of music, is there anything else you’re interested in?

MU: Well besides music, I have dabbled in acting and modeling. I’ve done a lot of extra work and one liner jobs, such as five episodes of One Life to Live, Gossip Girls, Law & Order…And I’m in an unreleased Bruce Willis film. I have a national commercial with the army recruitment and I modeled for Wilhelmina models for Fashion Week 2012 in Texas.

RW: Your Sound. How would you describe your sound to someone who has never heard your music?

MU: My sound in music is a reflection of me and my up bringing in New York City. Everyone who knows me, knows that I put my roots into my music. I call my sound Pop Island. I am of Jamaican descent and I fuse that sound with today’s Pop sound.

RW: Who are some of your musical influences?

MU: My musical influences are very broad; Sting, Usher, The Police, Elephant Man, N’Sync, Backstreet Boys, Snow, Musiq Soulchild, Bob Marley, Matisyahu and many more, lol.

RW: When writing songs, where do you gain your inspiration?

MU: When writing I gain my inspiration from life experiences and positive vibes.

RW: What can fans expect from Matt U Johnson in 2013?

MU: Fans can expect NEW and improved music and performances in 2013, worldwide distribution, more acting appearances and much more…I am actually currently writing music for Sony music Producer, Alvin West.

RW: Where can your fans find your music or follow you?

MU: My fans can follow me on TwitterInstagramFacebookReverbnation and my website.

RW: What is the best advice you’ve been given?

MU: The best advice I have been given is to surround myself with people who can take me higher in life.

RW: What is the best advice you would give someone interested in pursuing a career in music?

MU: The best advice I would give to another person pursuing music would be to believe in one’s self and stay persistent in your goals and dreams. Own your craft and never let anyone tell you that you can’t. Anything is possible!

RW: Any shoutouts?

MU: Yes, I would like to shoutout Team Matt U Johnson, all the people who truly believe in me and my aspirations…My parents, all my close friends all of the world and my supporters on the web, big ups!

Look out for a major single Matt U Johnson is set to drop soon called, “My Life” (Gwan Fight) produced by Orange County producer, Cirious of Wright Records (TBA).

Leave a Reply

