#RahTalkExclusive: “International Nova”

Point of No Return 2500RT

Bronx native and rising star International Nova recently released his debut album, ‘Point Of No Return’ under Monarchy Records and we got a chance to catch up with him to talk the album, his music, a new deal and more… Check it out below:

rah1

RW: Who is International Nova?

IN: Nova is an artist, actor, businessman, a son, a brother, an uncle…So many things (laughs).

RW: Is music your first love?

IN: Always has been since I can remember. Hip-Hop took over me when I first heard Tupac.

RW: How would you describe your sound to someone who has never heard your music?

IN: Global Music. I don’t really cater to one sound or genre, I tend to blur lines…So to speak (laughs).

RW: Who are some of your musical influences?

IN: The G.O.A.T., Tupac Shakur, The Outlaws, Big Pun, Nas, Rakim… Diddy is definitely an influence, he’s been so influential in this game!

RW: We heard about a deal you signed, Congrats! Can you tell us a little more about the deal and who you are now signed with?

IN: Yea, I actually signed two separate deals…One is an artist deal through Monarchy Records/Spectra Records and the other is a distribution deal for my label EMG through Monarchy. These are major distribution deals, so it’s definitely very exciting!

RW: You just released an album, your first under the new deal…Congrats again! What is the significance of ‘Point Of No Return’ and what can listeners expect from album?

IN: Well, to me… I really feel I am at a point in my musical journey where I really can’t turn back. It’s either go hard or go home. So, I felt ‘Point Of No Return’ was destined to be the name of the album.

RW: You had an album release party and Singer/Songwriter, Tony Sunshine hosted it… What is your connection with Tony and how has he made an influence on your career, if any?

International Nova and Tony Sunshine at 'Point Of No Return' Album Release Party
International Nova and Tony Sunshine at ‘Point Of No Return’ Album Release Party

IN: Well, I’ve known Tony for a minute, way before I started this music thing – On and off for about 12 years or so. He’s always been very supportive of my music and my journey. Within the past few years, we have got very close man. It’s pretty dope having someone around who’s done so much in the game to help you with what it is you are trying to do, your career. In the studio… It’s crazy because we vibe so well musically and most of the time I am thinking of something and before I can tell him, he already knows what it is and vice versa… I know (laughs), kind of creepy but that’s my brother right there!

RW: When writing, what inspires you or where do you gain your inspiration?

IN: The beat is what inspires me. I can hear a beat and it’s almost like it speaks directly to me and guides me through the story of the song.

RW: Have you ever doubted yourself or your career?

IN: All the time. I think it’s a big part of what keeps me humbled and grounded honestly.

RW: Outside of music, is there anything else you’re interested in?

IN: Acting. I always wanted to do the acting thing, but the music side of life has always kept me pretty busy…But if all goes well, you may see me on the small screen very soon — Hint, Hint! (laughs)

RW: If we were to go through your iPod (or any music player), who are some artist that we would find on your playlist?

IN: Man, I am a heavy R&B head, so you will definitely hear some R Kelly, TGT… Of course Tupac, Pun, Tony Sunshine…Even some Sade and some Sting.

RW: Upcoming projects or events?

IN: Right now I’m just promoting this album, making sure as many people as possible get to hear it. Aside from that, I am doing a lot of performances in and out of the states, so definitely look out for a show coming near your town!

RW: What can your fans expect from International Nova in 2013?

IN: Continued hits, more hard work…a lot more – Don’t expect everything I’m doing to stop!

RW: Where can your fans follow or find your music?

IN: Definitely check out my official website (click HERE) and they can also follow me on

TwitterInstagramFacebookReverbnation and YouTube.

RW: What is the best advice you’ve been given upon launching your career in the music?

IN: Never take no for an answer.

RW: Anything else you would like to add that I failed to mention?

IN: Man, just wanted to let people know that if I can do it, we can all do it…Just continue to put that hard work in and remember to keep God first.

RW: Any shoutouts?

IN: Just want to shoutout the Bronx as I always do… My team who are always keeping me on point and lastly the fans. Without the fans and my supporters, International Nova is nothing!

Check out International Nova’s promo video for his current single, “Photogenic” featuring Zieme — OFFICIAL VIDEO COMING SOON!

Leave a Reply

